A new season

Well I’ve had a long absence, but the spirit has moved me back here again – or more likely all the flowers in the garden have prompted me to post again!

Last year was so cold and snowy, but the plants almost all did amazingly well.  This warm but very wet winter has seemed a little trickier than the cold, especially with bulbs and alpines, but on the whole things have survived pretty well.

I wonder how bad the slugs and snails will be this year? I’m trying a garlic spray this year, as recommended by James Wong in his book Home Grown Revolution (a really good and inspiring book, by the way!). Blitz a whole bulb of garlic with a litre of water, leave for the ‘bits’ to settle, then strain into a sprayer. Best used early evening, as the pesky little critters make their way to their evening banquet! Store sprayer in fridge (I haven’t found the smell leaking out!) I’ll report on the success or otherwise later in the season.

Right now the alpines are coming into their own, with lovely mats of colour from Androsace, Aubretia, Lithodora, Aethionemas, and two gentians in flower too!

Androsace sarmentosa watkinsii

Androsace sarmentosa watkinsii

Aubretia Rose Queen

Aubretia Rose Queen

Lithodora oleifolia

Lithodora oleifolia

 

Aethionema grandiflorum

Aethionema grandiflorum

 

Aethionema Warley Rose

Aethionema Warley Rose

Aethionema capitatum

Aethionema capitatum

 

Gentiana verna

Gentiana verna

Gentiana acaulis

Gentiana acaulis

Yes, I did do a close-up of that last one, to avoid showing the slug-damage! (It was before the nematodes got active, and before I’d made the garlic spray!)

The small phloxes are just starting now, and this Phlox subulata Purple Beauty is the first to flower here this year.

Phlox subulata Purple Beauty

Phlox subulata Purple Beauty

And this Tulip batalinii Bright Gem is such a good flowerer, coming back better each year. (There seems to be some question if the bulbs sold under this name are correctly named, but whatever they are, they’re good!)

Tulipa batalinii Bright Gem

Tulipa batalinii Bright Gem

Lastly, for the moment, two Dwarf Irises – I do love Irises of all sorts! Hocus Pocus has just gone over, but Gingerbread Man has just opened.

Iris Hocus Pocus

Iris Hocus Pocus

Iris Gingerbread Man

Iris Gingerbread Man

Next post I hope to show you some of my Primula auriculas which are now flowering!

About plantaholicsgardendiary

I'm passionate about growing many different types of plants, from alpines to fruit and veg, and this has what has led me to start this diary. I also love to visit gardens and nurseries, and to travel (usually with a heavy emphasis on plants and nature in general) and I will no doubt add posts about these! And I'm coeliac, so I will eventually get around to sharing new recipes, good websites I've found, and exciting new products I've come across. I hope you find something of interest here!
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

