Late treats for bees

Yesterday was a glorious autumn day, and the sunshine brought out the bees, hoverflies, butterflies etc to top up with some nectar before the winter arrives.
My Elsholtzia stauntonii has just opened its buds (late this year) and the bees etc were all over it!

20121007-195729.jpg
It has deliciously fragrant foliage too, and has been fine with me in a sunny, well-drained spot for several years. I cut it back quite hard in spring.
Geranium Buckland Beauty has been flowering all summer, the mat gradually increasing in size, and now mingling with surrounding Sedums. It too attracts lots of bees, though they mostly disappeared when I got my camera!

20121007-200248.jpg
Sedum Carl is one I like, not only when in flower, but it also looks good when it’s gone over. The lower pic was taken a month or so ago.

20121007-200516.jpg
This Sedum was in the garden when I arrived, so I don’t have a name for it. The insects aren’t bothered though, and it’s especially welcome this year as I moved it and cut it back in late Spring, so it’s flowering usefully late. And of course, Verbena bonariensis is just great for butterflies.

20121007-200921.jpg
Asters are great, flowering as they do from late summer, right through the autumn. Some are nearly over now, but some are just coming into flower, so the juice bar can remain open for the insects a bit longer!
Aster Little Carlow is one that’s been flowering for weeks. It got somewhat knocked down by unusually strong winds and heavy rain the other week, but still flowers on!

20121007-201410.jpg
Aster novae-angliae Herbstschnee (Autumn Snow) is a good white one- I can’t abide white flowers that turn to brown mush, then hang around for ages! – but this one is ok. And Aster Lye End Beauty was planted out earlier this year and has impressed me so far! These are both quite tall, 4-5′.

20121007-201841.jpg
And last, but definitely not least, are Buddleias! My favourite has to be Dartmoor, with huge panicles of flowers for weeks. This Comma is enjoying a drink!

20121007-202228.jpg
This year I bought a new dwarf Buddleia Bee Magenta (I also got Bee Sky Blue!) and I’m growing it in a pot. As I purchased it quite late, and very small, I’m impressed with how it’s doing. The other Buddleia is B. lindleyana, which I’ve grown for many years in this South-facing border, and thankfully its survived so far!

20121007-202829.jpg
Lastly, I’m always pleased to come across frogs in the garden- they don’t seem to eat many slugs, but I just love them!

20121007-203021.jpg
And yes, that IS a bit of bindweed that I missed- along with quite a few others! The battle continues next year!!

About plantaholicsgardendiary

I'm passionate about growing many different types of plants, from alpines to fruit and veg, and this has what has led me to start this diary. I also love to visit gardens and nurseries, and to travel (usually with a heavy emphasis on plants and nature in general) and I will no doubt add posts about these! And I'm coeliac, so I will eventually get around to sharing new recipes, good websites I've found, and exciting new products I've come across. I hope you find something of interest here!
This entry was posted in Autumn, My garden, Plants for bees and butterflies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Late treats for bees

  1. Beautiful pictures. The only thing blooming in my garden is tomato blight. And how come your frogs are frogs and mine are still tadpoles?!

Leave a Reply

