A wander at Pennington

Yesterday was such a beautiful day that we decided to go to Pennington Nature Reserve, in the South of Hampshire – about half an hour from home! It was such a glorious sunny October day, with hardly a breath of wind (& the wind is often biting down there!)

20121015-064117.jpg
The cows weren’t bothered by the bogginess underfoot!

I DO love teasels, and believe me these are just a few of the pics I took! The goldfinches must be very happy when they find them- we did see some big flocks of them around!

20121015-064436.jpg

There were so many swans around- too many to count- that it was impossible to resist the odd ‘reflective’ moment! (but I did regret not taking my SLR and tripod! These were all taken with iPhone!)

20121015-064733.jpg
There were a lot of birds to be seen – time to start learning my ducks and waders again! I always forget them each year! My husband reckoned he saw 47 species (not that he was counting, of course!)

20121015-065625.jpg
That was a large flock of godwits- black-tailed I think- with many more species mingling! There were some beautiful Lapwings to be seen too- really should have taken better camera!!

We walked as far as Kehaven, then returned by the inland path.

20121015-070100.jpg
There were plenty of berries around for the birds- Hawthorn, Honeysuckle, a garden escapee Cotoneaster (franchettii?), and lots of blackberries still!

20121015-070546.jpg
And the bees must be happy to see all the flowers on the gorse- what would they do without gorse?!

20121015-204036.jpg

About plantaholicsgardendiary

I'm passionate about growing many different types of plants, from alpines to fruit and veg, and this has what has led me to start this diary. I also love to visit gardens and nurseries, and to travel (usually with a heavy emphasis on plants and nature in general) and I will no doubt add posts about these! And I'm coeliac, so I will eventually get around to sharing new recipes, good websites I've found, and exciting new products I've come across. I hope you find something of interest here!
This entry was posted in Autumn, walks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A wander at Pennington

  1. Beautiful pictures of autumn, you certainly still caught the mood with your telephone.

Leave a Reply

